Is Bangladesh still too young?

Whenever I think about the ongoing social and environmental issues in Bangladesh, I justify it with the theory that it’s just happening because maybe Bangladesh is still too young. I feel as if the memory of the Liberation war is still too fresh in everyone’s mind. Every year on national holidays in Bangladesh, we are reminded of the war and its horrific tragedies. We are reminded of the people who fought for our language and our freedom. Don’t take me wrong, I do respect those martyrs who were brave enough to fight for our language and freedom, but I feel that when you mourn them instead of celebrating them, it brings on more sadness and does not allow the country nor the citizens of Bangladesh to move on. We need to celebrate our victory more than we mourn the martyrs who won the victory for us.


Again once more I would like to put out a disclaimer that perhaps maybe this is what I see from living in America. My opinions may be one-sided, but the matter of fact is that, I believe that there maybe more like me who have same views as me. There might be something that can argue against my theory and positions, but I totally understand that. I am not writing to bash Bangladesh, only to suggest solutions to problems I see.


The reason why the Liberation War is still fresh in everyone’s mind is probably because the generation that has fought and witnessed the war is till telling stories of it. There are still people who experienced the war firsthand and they are still somewhere in their heart have not moved on. They still have so much hatred in them and it’s totally justified. But I feel as if we need to move on. An example of another Independence/war is India’s partition with Pakistan, its tragedies were not talked about nor talked of in the years after the war. People in a sense forgot of the war and focused on the newly independent country. Only after the 60s and 70s did writers begin writing about partition stories.


So now I just justify Bangladesh’s poor state on its young age. It’s still learning to handle itself and prosper. But perhaps some political figures have their own agenda and have other goals in mind. Which is another discussion in itself. Maybe my kids or grandkids will see a better Bangladesh than I have.


Thanks for reading guys!


Leave a comment